English Grammar Online … the fun way to learn English!

South Africa - Fact Sheet

Official name:Republic of South Africa (formerly: Union of South Africa)
Size:1.221,037 kmĀ²
Population:41.6 million
Borders:Namibia (northwest), Botswana, Zimbabwe (north), Mozambique, Swaziland (northeast and east), Lesotho (within South Africa), Indian Ocean (southeast), Atlantic Ocean (southwest)
Official languages:English, Afrikaans, Tsonga, Ndebele, Zwazi, Tswana, Venda, Xhosa, Zulu
Nationality / People:A person of South African nationality is a South African.
Local time:Johannesburg: 21:23 SAST (Monday, 24th January 2022)

Other interesting facts:

Although Pretoria is considered to be the capital of South Africa, the country actually has three capitals: Pretoria (executive), Cape Town (legislative), and Bloemfontein (judicial).

In its eastern part, South Africa entirely surrounds another country - Lesotho, an independent constitutional monarchy.

English is also an official language in the following African countries: Botswana, Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Nigeria, Malawi, Sierra Leone, Swaziland, The Gambia, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe