Fact Sheet

Official name:Commonwealth of Australia
Size:7.7 million km˛
Population:21 million
Borders:no direct borders; Timor Sea and Arafura Sea (northwest), Torres Strait (northeast), Great Barrier Reef (northeast), Tasman Sea (southeast), Indian Ocean (south)
Currency:Australian Dollar
Official language:English
Nationality / PeopleA person of Australian nationality is an Australian.
Local time:Perth: 09:30 WST (Thursday, 29th June 2017)
Sydney: 11:30 EST (Thursday, 29th June 2017)

Other interesting facts:

Australia is not only a country but also the smallest continent.

Links on Australia